Site no longer supporterd

This site is no longer supported and will not be updated with new content. You are welcome to browse and download all content already included in the site. Please note you will have to register your email address to access the site. We expect to close the site down by December 2016.

You are here

Timothy A. Roehrs, PhD

Sleep Disorders and Research Center, Henry Ford Health System, and School of Medicine, Wayne State University, Detroit, MI, USA

Timothy A. Roehrs is Senior Staff Bioscientist at the Sleep Disorders and Research Center of the Henry Ford Health System, and Professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurosciences at the School of Medicine, Wayne State University, Detroit, MI, USA. Professor Roehrs received his PhD in physiological psychology from the University of Georgia in 1978. He undertook a postdoctoral fellowship at the Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Institute, University of Washington, Seattle, WA, USA, from 1978 to 1980. He then worked in the Departments of Psychology and Psychiatry at this university, teaching and researching alcoholism and drug abuse until 1982, when he joined the Sleep Disorders and Research Center at Henry Ford Health System. He received his certification in sleep disorders medicine in 1985.

Professor Roehrs’ research has focused on alcohol and drug abuse and the psychopharmacology of sleep and daytime alertness, the causes and consequences of daytime sleepiness, and sleep and pain. His research has been funded by the US National Institutes of Health, specifically the National Institute of Drug Abuse, the National Institute of Alcoholism and Alcohol Abuse, and the National Institute of Mental Health. Professor Roehrs has published more than 250 papers and book chapters. He is a fellow of the American Psychological Association and the American Academy of Sleep Medicine, and served as the President of the Sleep Research Society and Chair of the Executive Committee of the Association of Professional Sleep Societies. Professor Roehrs received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Sleep Foundation in 2014.