Site no longer supporterd

This site is no longer supported and will not be updated with new content. You are welcome to browse and download all content already included in the site. Please note you will have to register your email address to access the site. We expect to close the site down by December 2016.

You are here

Falk Kiefer, MD

Central Institute of Mental Health, Mannheim, and University of Heidelberg, Germany

Falk Kiefer received his MD from the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany, in 1996, then followed internships in the Department of Psychiatry at the same university and the University of Hamburg, Germany. Appointments followed as Resident in Psychiatry, Chief Resident of the Addiction Unit, Chief Resident of the Intensive Care Unit, and Resident in Neurology at this university, where he was board-certified as a specialist in psychiatry and psychotherapy and appointed Consultant in Psychiatry and Head of the Outpatients Unit in 2003. He was appointed to his current positions as Full Professor of Psychiatry, Psychotherapy and Addiction Research at the University of Heidelberg, and Deputy Director of the Department of Addictive Behaviour and Addiction Medicine at the Central Institute of Mental Health, Mannheim, Germany, which is associated with the University of Heidelberg, in 2005.

Professor Kiefer is Co-Editor of European Addiction Research and is on the editorial boards of Addiction Biology, Alcohol and Alcoholism, and Sucht, and on the advisory board of Pharmacopsychiatry. He is President of the Alcohol and Drug Addiction Section of the European Psychiatric Association (EPA), and a member of the Board of Directors of the German Society for Addiction Research and Therapy (DG-Sucht). Professor Kiefer has received several awards, including Fellowship Awards from the World Psychiatric Association in 1999; the World Society of Biological Psychiatry in 2001; and the European College of Neuropsychopharmacology in 2002. He also received the German Addiction Research Award in 2002; and the EPA Research Prize in 2004.